A new library world? Joining cpd23

20120505-083217.jpg

Why cpd23, why now?

I thought about joining this CPD programme for libraries last year because, although I knew quite a bit about some of the things, others could do with polishing and some were new altogether. Even though I am in the latter stages of my career it is always good to learn. I decided I didn’t have time because my library was a year from closing and I thought all my energies should be put into making sure that was a smooth transition for the staff concerned.

This year, things are very different. My library is at Jordanhill, the smaller campus of the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. You can see Jordanhill in the picture above (although that is the attractive 1920s building and not the rather hideous 60s edifice which houses the library). We are now about a month away from closing – the university is becoming single campus – and I feel my work here is almost done. This week, after months of ups and downs, I have taken the momentous decision not to move with the library. I hate to use the term “retirement” because it makes me feel ancient, but that’s what it is – though I hasten to add it is as early a retirement as it could possibly be. I squeak into the category by 2 weeks.

So what better time to start learning something new and meeting new people, even if only virtually? As several people have remarked, once a librarian, always a librarian, and I certainly agree in my case at least. I have various plans for keeping in touch with the library world and starting new activities. If I find new roles, I will certainly need new skills so a new library world indeed – here I come!

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

2 thoughts on “A new library world? Joining cpd23”

  1. Hello Anabel! And welcome to cpd23. Mighty impressed by your attitude to your library closing/being amalgamated and to the big ‘R’, and hurray for a commitment to learning new skills and getting to know new people. Really hope that cpd23 can live up to your expectations and introduce you to some new stuff, though I would imagine that your insights will be fascinating! Anyway good luck, and hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

