Thing 2: Investigate some other blogs

So, time to get out and about. First of all, someone came to see me – Wendy, aka Wonderingwen….the wondering librarian left a comment on my post about multiple blogging attempts and how that sounded like her too. Nice to know I am not the only one! Although at least my blogging attempts go somewhere – the social media landscape is littered with other things I’ve signed up for then never done anything with. Maybe this course is a chance to address that. Wendy is trying out 23 things from “the other side” because she has set up something similar herself in the past.

I then looked at the participants’ list and the RSS feed and became totally daunted by the numbers. So I reverted to the familiar. I have known Karen at Airs and Graces for years, mainly through SALCTG (Scottish Academic Libraries Co-operative Training Group) of which I used to be Secretary and she is now Convenor. At a meeting this week we joined forces to promote cpd23. A recent recruit to SALCTG is Sonanka at spinning plates……. I tried to add a comment to her blog, but my iPad was having none of it. I also know Kathleen, aka the Victorian Librarian, via Glasgow Library Tweetups (GLTU) and left a comment on her blog. Finally, I haven’t met YiWen yet but she has expressed interest in GLTU and I will probably meet her next week.

To choose a couple of people I didn’t know, I went with a subject dear to my heart. Food! What’s not to love about a blog called A cup of tea & a scone? Nothing! And as a Glaswegian vegetarian, Veggie haggis also has considerable attractions. Unfortunately, this was another one I couldn’t comment on thanks to the iPad.

So – a few things that I’m sure will come up again: SALCTG and GLTU. A few old friends encountered and a few new ones. But, lessons to be learnt – use the PC and grit my teeth and tackle the RSS feed. No point in doing this if I don’t make a bit of effort!

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

4 thoughts on “Thing 2: Investigate some other blogs”

  1. Hi Anabel, what a lovely way to blog about Thing2 than with some well selected shares to others’ blogs, with a nice bit of connective commentary threading through. From my own traipsing through the cdp23 blogosphere, I can see yours is one I will want to follow! Best of luck on the program.

    (p.s. – yes, one ‘m’ no ‘e’ – American, no regrets)

    Like

    1. Hi there – thanks for stopping by the blog and for your positive comments. It’s amazing how far the ripples spread – people far and wide connecting, it’s great.

      Like

  2. Hi Anabel
    I’ve found your blog, but am ashamed to admit I had to google it to find it, I must be doing something wrong, but will check that out next week when I have a little more time.
    Came back from Scotland a couple of weeks ago – had the most amazing veggie haggis in Spey!
    Guess my next challenge is to learn to blog like you! It’s a great blog!

    Like

    1. Hi Carol – I think the problem is, as I discovered for Thing 3, when I’m commenting it links to a different blog from the one I really want to highlight. I’m not sure how to prevent that but am learning to paste a link to this blog into all my cpd23 comments.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

