Thing 19: Integrating the Things into life

Thing 19 is a chance to look back at previous Things and assess what has been learned and put into practice. Reading through my previous posts, it struck me that they really tell the story of my life over the last 6 months. When I started in May, I was a month away from early retirement and thought that cpd23 would be an ideal way to keep in touch with the library world, meet new people, even if only virtually, and learn new skills. I saw the future as: finish work, go on holiday, come back and think what to do next – with plenty of time for pursuing cpd23. It hasn’t quite worked out that way. I took on a temporary library job which involves at least three hours commuting each day and have been so exhausted I have fallen way behind with this programme.

So have I gained anything at all? Well, I haven’t needed a way to stay in touch with the library world as I’m still in it, and my original aim of “meeting” people through following new blogs has more or less fallen by the wayside. I do still dip into the RSS feed of cpd23 contributions, but that was more useful when I was around the same stage as everyone else. Now, if I comment on any blogs it tends to be those of people I knew beforehand anyway. I have learned about some new tools, Evernote probably being the one I’ve used most, and I picked up a really good suggestion for an RSS app for iPad (Mr Reader) from another participant. However, if I haven’t made the most of cpd23 it it’s no-one’s fault but my own – it’s not you, as they say, it’s me!

Where next? Well, my contract ends next week which will give me some free time again and a chance to finish the programme by the end of the month and qualify for a certificate. I also hope to go back and examine in more detail some of the Things I’ve skated over through tiredness and lack of time. This blog has actually been very useful as a reflection tool and although, as confessed in Thing 1, I’m rather over-provided with blogs (four), I intend to keep it going as a record of the library and book related activities I hope to maintain when I retire for the second time. So the verdict is: could do better, but don’t give up hope yet!

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

One thought on “Thing 19: Integrating the Things into life”

I'd love to hear what you think!

