National Libraries Day 2014

National Libraries Day was on Saturday, 8th February – I didn’t visit any libraries that day myself because I was glued to my PC collecting tweets from all over Scotland to document them on Storify. The results are in Part 1 (the week running up to NLD) and Part 2 (the day itself). I think the highlight is Dundee Libraries’ pictures in Part 2 of its youngest (15 days) and oldest (105 years) members. I did, however, attend and help out at, two libraries’ events earlier in the week.

Glasgow Women’s Library

On Wednesday, Glasgow Women’s Library hosted a visit from the librarian of Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School in Dumbarton and her library helpers. They had a talk about the library and archives, and each pupil had been primed to bring along, and discuss, a book with a strong female character. Wendy, GWL Librarian, and I were very impressed with how well they did this. In the afternoon, GWL hosted a book browse and swap and took some photographs answering The Big Question which CILIPS had set as its theme for NLD14 “What did you do in your library today?” Both events are covered in Part 1 of the Storify.

Mitchell Library

Glasgow’s public libraries were also asking the Big Question, and on Thursday I headed off to the Mitchell to help persuade library users to take part. I wasn’t terribly successful, but they did get some good pictures some of which are in Part 2 of the Storify.

Here are my own two pictures from the Big Question:

I also compiled a blogpost of SALCTG members’ activities. All in all, there’s a lot of enthusiasm evident for Scotland’s libraries. Cuts in opening hours and loss of branches is becoming more common north of the Border, but this was a day for celebration and the Storifies reflected that.

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

I'd love to hear what you think!

