Volunteering with Glasgow Women’s Library: a presentation

As part of a presentation to Garnethill Women’s Rural Institute last night (must be the most urban “Rural” ever!) I talked about these slides based on my year or so volunteering with Glasgow Women’s Library. The idea was to show the variety of activities and to emphasise the friendliness of the place – the presentation starts and ends with the question you are always asked within about 30 seconds of walking through the door: “Would you like a cup of tea?” My part came in between staff members Gabrielle, who talked about the history and development of the Library, and Donna who talked about the Scottish Suffragettes and the related archival material the Library holds. Judging by the buzz in the room ( and the enthusiasm of one of the attendees who got on the same Subway train home as I did) we might have recruited a few more members.

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

I'd love to hear what you think!

