Mixing the Colours

On Friday, I attended (as a helper) Glasgow Women’s Library’s Mixing the Colours conference about women and sectarianism. I was going to write about it, but my friend Helen MacKinven already did so and, as I can’t improve on what she says, I suggest you hop on over to her blog A way with words and read her excellent post. But first a few pictures!

The beautiful venue is St Andrews in the Square, built between 1739 and 1756. It’s regarded as one of the top six classical churches in the UK and is now a centre for Scottish culture. The lovely group on the steps are contributors to the Mixing the Colours book and film. Other writers, including Helen, have read their work on podcasts which you can access here.

Rachel Thain Gray* is to be congratulated on running this interesting and important project so brilliantly!

*Update, 25/03/15 – Project Development Worker, Rachel, has now posted her speech from the day on the GWL Blog. It’s well worth a read.

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

2 thoughts on “Mixing the Colours”

  1. Thanks for the link to my blog Anabel – I’m flattered! It was a great day and it was lovely to cross paths with you again. No doubt I’ll bump into you sometime soon… 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

