What’s good about libraries? D

Library A to Z: DI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with D?

Dads; dance; databases; democracy; Dewey; digital literacy; discovery; diversity; download (things that the library buys); dry; DVDs; dyslexia / disability support.

Quotes about libraries from people with names beginning with D are thinner on the ground – but there are plenty about books and reading, starting with the great Roald Dahl.

Roald Dahl: If you are going to get anywhere in life you have to read a lot of books.

George Mercer Dawson: A great library contains the diary of the human race.

Annie Dillard: She reads books as one would breathe air, to fill up and live.

Frederick Douglas: Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.

Do you have any other suggestions for D?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

21 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? D”

  1. Great post, what a fantastic idea for an A to Z. As real bookworms my daughter and I spend quite a lot of time visiting our local library. Such great places full of a plethora of information, DVD’s, computers as well as of course books 🙂

    Like

    1. D is for Doctor Who – or are you saving him for W?

      “Doctor Who: You want weapons? We’re in a library. Books are the best weapon in the world. This room’s the greatest arsenal we could have. Arm yourself!

      (from Tooth and Claw in Season 2)”

      Really enjoying these posts Ananbel

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Drinking fountains (and given the way our beautiful downtown library’s bathrooms have been taken over by the homeless can’t believe I didn’t mention that for B). Actually at both public library branches I’ve worked at, people occasionally walk in the door to use one or both and then leave. And I have to admit I’ve done the same thing when out doing errands…

    Like

  3. Visiting from A/Z. Libraries in my opinion are deligtful. Where else can you go and check out books to read for free? And even if you have a Kindle or some other device to read books, that usually costs money to obtain. With a library, all you need is a card to accessto many a wonderful book! enjoy the rest of the challenge!

    betty

    Like

  4. I love that you included dads in the D post about what’s good about libraries. When I was four my dad used to take me to the library every week for Curious George books. It was our outing, always just the two of us, if my mom and sister came it was always on a separate trip. I loved it! I think that’s at least part of why I love libraries so much.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

