What’s good about libraries? F

Library A to Z: FI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with F?

Facebook (access to); families; family history; fax services; fiction; films; free (to join and free books); friends; fun; fundraising; future skills (preparing for the future).

Some thoughts from people whose names begin with F:

Matt Finch: A public library is like the TARDIS on your street corner: just a box from the outside, but step through the doors and it can take you anywhere that humans have ever dreamed of.

Shelby Foote: A university is just a group of buildings gathered around a library.

Cornelia Funke: A library book, I imagine, is a happy book.

Do you have any other suggestions for F?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

12 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? F”

  1. Fingerplays – there’s even a link on our website to a YouTube playlist of videos of librarians demonstrating fingerplays.
    Freegal – “Downloadable songs and music videos from hundreds of musical genres and thousands of labels including Sony Music Entertainment. Files downloaded are yours to keep and transfer.”
    Foreign language materials – My library’s collection has books, movies and music in over 40 languages. (My branch only has English, French and Spanish)
    The library’s Facebook page is a primary source for publicizing programs.
    We don’t have fax services …

    Like

    1. Another great list. Yes, I wondered about fax – rather outdated! These all come from the Library A to Z list which was crowd-sourced so someone must still have them.

      Like

  2. I think they’ve covered all the other “F” library words. I’m racking my brain and coming up blank 🙂 Finch’s quote is my favorite for your F.

    You can find me here:
    ClarabelleRant

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

