What’s good about libraries? J

Library A to Z: JI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with J?

Job searching; journals; journeys (discover new places with a book); judgement-free.

Some J quotations:

Lady Bird Johnson: Perhaps no place in any community is so totally democratic as the town library. The only entrance requirement is interest.

Lyndon Baines Johnson: A book is the most effective weapon against intolerance and ignorance.

Marilyn Johnson: Librarians consider free access to information the foundation of democracy.” (quoted in This Book Is Overdue! )

Samuel Johnson: No place affords a more striking conviction of the vanity of human hopes than a public library.

Do you have any other suggestions for J?

 

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

4 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? J”

  1. Just seconding judgement free. That is the part of my job (librarian in a small branch in a very large county system) that people have the hardest time understanding.

    Like

  2. Jeopardy. I hope the library system is not in jeopardy. I love that you are promoting the cause of the Public Library system. If it were not for my local library in Drumchapel, Glasgow, lending books to me during the late 1960s and 1970s, I would probably not have become a primary teacher. The library was my lifeline every week where I picked up my ‘escapism’ for the coming days. My clutch of Enid Blyton, or later – H Rider Haggard etc, took me to far flung places at a time when I could only dream of a different lifestyle. Back then I didn’t think I’d become an author with books in the system but I’m glad the local library still exists (now Aberdeenshire)

    Like

    1. Thanks Nancy – I think we are less in jeopardy here than in England, but the problems are starting to spread. Ever vigilant! I had very similar experiences to you growing up.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

