What’s good about libraries? K

Library A to Z: KI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with K?

Key (to success / learning); keyboard (both music & computer); key-stages (support for curriculum work); kids; kindness; kinship; knitting (crafts in the library); knowledge.

Some K quotes:

Maira Kalman: I love the architecture of public libraries, the very large windows. Inside it’s polished, it’s quiet; during the day, the sun is usually streaming through one room or another. And all the people are sitting there together, but they’re all going to completely different places through the books they’re reading.

John F. Kennedy: Libraries should be open to all – except the censor.

Stephen King: When all else fails, give up and go to the library.

Kristen Kittscher: Libraries are anything but quiet: they resound with centuries of knowledge and human experience.

Do you have any other suggestions for K?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

6 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? K”

    1. Thanks for the comment – I know what you mean, but I use both. It’s very handy to be able to look things up in Glasgow’s 24/7 online reference service when the library is closed. Or it’s too wet to go out – often the case!

      Like

  1. I still like the old index files and looking things up. Most now have gone computer. I sat one day and did the fish? film just to look through old newspapers. I discovered a lot about friends and their family. Fun. I do hope they never rid of the library.

    Like

    1. I hope they don’t either. Not everything is on the Internet, as some people seem to think. As you say, old newspapers etc on microfilm are incredibly useful and many probably never will be online.

      Like

  2. Hi Anabel! It’s my first time to visit this blog of yours. I usually head to the travel blog 🙂 This page has lovely content, too! And I love the velvety lilac and mossy green background.

    I also like your K words — I trained to be a teacher so your “K” words stirs up the educator spirit in me.

    Like

    1. Thanks – nice to see you here too. I have forgotten who follows me on which blog so have started just pasting links to both! It gets very confusing. The background is from a banner made by Glasgow Women’s Library for a march celebrating the suffragettes and other heroic women (if you click on March of Women in the tag cloud you’ll see it in full).

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

