What’s good about libraries? M

Library A to Z: MI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with M?

Magazines; mailing lists; Make a Noise in Libraries (RNIB libraries campaign); makerspaces; managing directors (building businesses/business support); maps; market research; meeting (business); meeting (community); mental health; minorities welcome; mobile libraries; money-saving (free services); mood boosting; mums; music.

The search for M quotations was one of the most fruitful:

Sarah J. Maas: Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.

Archibald MacLeish:What is more important in a library than anything else – than everything else – is the fact that it exists.

Alberto Manguel: Libraries have always seemed to me pleasantly mad places, and for as long as I can remember I’ve been seduced by their labyrinthine logic.

Henry Miller: A book lying idle on a shelf is wasted ammunition. Like money, books must be kept in constant circulation. Lend and borrow to the maximum.

Julieanne Moore: School libraries are the best. I grew up spending most of my time in them. I really depended on librarians to guide me, and I am forever in their debt. AND Reading is the way I understood the world when I was growing up. I moved a lot, and my constant companions were books.

Caitlin Moran: A library is a cross between an emergency exit, a life-raft and a festival.

Michael Morpurgo: Libraries are browsing places, dreaming places, finding out places. So much education takes place when children are making choices of their own.

Do you have any other suggestions for M?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

4 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? M”

I'd love to hear what you think!

