What’s good about libraries? U

Library A to Z: UI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with U?

Understanding; unemployment (supporting job seekers); unexpected; universal; universal credit (support); unlimited; uplifting.

Quotes are thin on the ground from here to the end of the alphabet. John Updike in praise of books:

Smaller than a breadbox, bigger than a TV remote, the average book fits into the human hand with a seductive nestling, a kiss of texture, whether of cover cloth, glazed jacket, or flexible paperback.

Do you have any other suggestions for U? One from Twitter (thanks @jayandrew25) is user groups. Jay is in the process of setting one up in her local area after a productive meeting with library representatives. Any more?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

4 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? U”

  1. Hi Annabel – I’ve never been a great frequenter of libraries .. though they entice me, interest me etc etc .. I do visit the British Library in London, and I’d love to visit the new Birmingham Library .. they’ve so much to offer if one knows one’s way around … and I love seeing the Libraries of the world … I’ve written about them a few times … cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. Used book sales… Each of our branches has its own Friends group that periodically sell withdrawn library books and books donated by the public. The used book sales are very popular with parents, people that spend weekends at the cabin “up north”, mixed-media artists, ….

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

