What’s good about libraries? W

Library A to Z: WI’m following the A to Z Challenge by posting every day in April (except Sundays) about the importance of libraries. I’m using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and a small selection of quotations in each post.

What good things about libraries begin with W?

Warmth; well-being; wifi (free); wisdom; workshops; World Wide Web.

W quotes – I wasn’t sure if strictly speaking Dr Who should be under D since he is “The Doctor”. But here he is in the good and varied company of a chemistry professor, a novelist and an ex-Rolling Stone.

Frank H. Westheimer: A couple of months in the laboratory can save a couple of hours in the library.

Dr Who: You want weapons? We’re in a library. Books … the best weapons in the world! This room’s the greatest arsenal we could have. Arm yourself!

Virginia Woolf: Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.

Bill Wyman: The 15 years since I left the band have been the best years of my life. I should have been a museum curator or a librarian because I like that better than being a “rock star”.

Do you have any other suggestions for W?

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

3 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? W”

  1. Hi Anabel – those are great quotes … Acquire a Wealth of information – visit a library …

    The things they’ve mentioned are all Wonderful reasons to Work in a library … I think I’d have liked that too .. cheers Hilary

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

