What’s good about libraries? Z

Library A to Z: ZThis is the last of my A to Z Challenge posts about the importance of libraries. I’ve been using the Library A to Z advocacy materials and adding a small selection of quotations. Thank you to everyone who has followed along.

What good things about libraries begin with Z?

Zines (magazines); zzzzz (child sleeping after being read bedtime story).

And a posthumous thank you to Frank Zappa who supplies both of today’s quotes:

If you want to get laid, go to college. If you want an education, go to the Library.

So many books, so little time.

And that’s it! Except, not quite. If you haven’t already, I urge you to visit the Library A to Z site. There are downloadable materials, including the graphics and words that I’ve been using, and a page of excellent arguments about the importance of libraries. These are mostly non-country specific, but in the UK we should make urgent use of them. The General Election is days away. There may be other issues on your mind, but have you asked your candidates about their views on libraries? For more ideas on what to say, see CILIPS’ (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) Electionwatch page. And above all – vote!

Thanks again to everyone who has read, commented and made suggestions over the last month. If you have any for Z, please add them below. Au revoir!

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

13 thoughts on “What’s good about libraries? Z”

  1. I’m leaving quotes with a Z in somewhere!!

    “Books are mirrors: you only see in them what you already have inside you.” Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind Although obviously, what you have inside you changes as you read.

    “Think before you speak. Read before you think.” Fran Lebowitz

    “Many a book is like a key to unknown chambers within the castle of one’s own self.” Franz Kafka

    “Be careful about reading health books. Some fine day you’ll die of a misprint.” Markus Herz

    The last one made me laugh… well done on making it to the end! Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Anabel – I need to check out the links you mention .. at some stage – so hope you keep posting and reminding us about them … I will be voting, but as I’m still tied to the computer for another week or so … I won’t be asking about their thoughts on the Library … but I should – you’re right … I’m not good on politics either …

    Congratulations on finishing the A-Z though and so good to have met you – and hopefully see you around .. cheers Hilary

    Like

  3. Thanks Anabel for such an interesting A-Z of posts. I teach in a library on the days when it’s closed and it hurts to see so many people disappointed when they can’t access the facilities. You’re right, we must heckle more. i’ll be back to check out your links.

    Like

  4. Wonderful job! I very much enjoyed seeing all the reasons libraries are important and reading the quotes. I’m so over run with dealing with staff I’d almost forgotten why I decided to go into this line of work. It was fun to be able to add some things that we do here in Minnesota! As much as I rip on Minneapolis, we did just get the title back of “most literate city in the US”.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

