A to Z reflections

A-to-Z+Reflection+[2015]+-+LgAs soon as Gary Green and Andrew Walsh published their fabulous Library A to Z advocacy tool I knew it would make the basis of a great A to Z Challenge. But would I have time? I was already planning to enter for the second year with my travel blog (writing about Gallus Glasgow) and wasn’t sure if I could run two at once. In the end, I got all my travel posts ready before the start of the challenge so signed this blog up at the last moment – and here I am! Through to the end.

Library A to ZSo would I do it again? Yes! But not with two blogs. I feel I could have made much more of the “What’s good about libraries?” theme with more time. Basically, it was a cut and paste job – the graphics and alphabetical words from Gary and Andrew’s lists and a few quotes each day that I had been collecting for a while. I could, for example, have expanded on those with some details about the person quoted. A couple of days when I didn’t have many quotes, I wrote about a specific library and it would have been nice to have done more of that.

Still, people read and commented, more so than ever before on this blog, although both stats fell through the month. That doesn’t surprise me – I started off visiting far too many other challengers’ blogs and had to cut down over time. I hope I wasn’t preaching entirely to the converted and that at least a few people had their eyes opened to the range of services and activities that libraries offer.

Future plans? Short term, I want to go back over the comments and collate them with those from Facebook but that will have to wait. In the long-term, if I do the challenge again, I think it would be better to do alternate years on each blog. I’ll leave you with thanks for reading, and one last library quote from Matthew Battles, a Harvard Librarian:

The library … is no mere cabinet of curiosities; it’s a world, complete and completable, and it is filled with secrets. Like a world, it has its changes and its seasons, which belie the permanence that ordered ranks of books imply. Tugged by the gravity of readers’ desires, books flow in and out of the library like the tides.

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

8 thoughts on “A to Z reflections”

  1. Hi Anabel – I think you found me for which I’m mighty grateful .. as I shall enjoy my visits – and I did come visiting … but I had a second project on the go (not blogging) and got run down by the end .. and haven’t even tidied up my A-Z yet … still Cornwall did some selling …

    I love those letters – did you have those for each of your days .. if so I really should have noticed and commented earlier … anyway I look forward to more posts … and some time will get over to the Gallus Glasgow blog .. but for now I’d better stay put .. cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. Thanks for commenting – yes, we did find each other during A to Z but I can’t remember if it was through this blog or the other one! There is a letter for every day, thanks to the advocacy tool quoted.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your blog through the A-Z and look forward to reading your future posts. I wanted to tell you I discovered a box full of old books that my husband’s Aunt had. She too was a librarian and collected some great books. I feel very lucky to have them 🙂

    Like

    1. Apologies for not replying sooner – I’ve just found your comment in Spam. I haven’t checked this blog in a while, the A to Z might have been its last hurrah! Thanks for visiting.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

