Orkney Library

In my last post, I wrote about visiting Shetland Library while on holiday there. The following week, we moved on to Orkney and, of course, I visited the library. How could I keep away? This is a very famous library, winner of the 2015 Library of the Year Award, but long before that it was known world-wide for its humorous Twitter feed.

I was sad that the Wooden Woman (what’s she all about?) didn’t have any jokes to offer when we were there (those are hedgehogs made out of old books she’s holding) but, just so you don’t miss out, here’s an example of what she gets up to from Twitter.

If you don’t already follow @OrkneyLibrary I suggest you do so right now! Life will never be dull.

Published by

Anabel Marsh

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

5 thoughts on “Orkney Library”

  1. Hi Annabel – how very frustrating about that Wooden Woman – I’d love to know more about her – but she makes a great bookstand. While the Twitterer has done a pretty good job and could be inspiring for many …

    I sincerely hope the library holds up better than the much vaunted, new Birmingham library – that is doing a rapid nose dive …

    Great to see your notes and the photos and fun to see ‘la dame en bois’ – pretty wood too ..

    Cheers Hilary

    Like

    1. Thanks Hilary. I think Orkney has done brilliantly with its libraries – the only other static one is in Stromness and also looks lovely. The problem with Birmingham and similar places (in my opinion anyway) is that they sink pots of cash into showpiece central libraries and neglect the branches which are often at the heart of their communities. Then they find they run out of money even for the flagship. Deplorable.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

