“My Library By Right” – have you signed yet?

Do you use libraries? If you’re reading this, there’s a good chance the answer will be yes, but did you know that every week two libraries in the UK close their doors for good?

If you answered no to the first question, is it because you can afford to buy books and pay for a good broadband connection? But what if you couldn’t? As Nick Poole says in a recent Mirror article “It’s hard to understand the impact of these cuts when you’re well-off, have easy access to the internet and can buy the books you want. But for millions of poor families, jobseekers and people with disabilities a library is a lifeline.”

CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) is running a campaign called My Library By Right. Follow the link if you’d like to know more, and please, please sign their petition along with (so far) almost 8000 other people, including famous authors such as Joanna Trollope and Andrew Motion. It relates specifically to English libraries at the moment, but libraries in Scotland are facing cuts too and it’s important that we show our support.

Thank you.

Published by

Anabel @ The Glasgow Gallivanter

I'm a proud Glaswegian who loves to go gallivanting both at home and abroad. Join me in my travels, both historic and current. Credit where credit's due: photography mostly by my more talented other half, John.

4 thoughts on ““My Library By Right” – have you signed yet?”

  1. Hi Anabel .. just signed – I don’t use the library that often – but I know many people do and it’s a valuable resource for the town … cheers Hilary

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.